Creating ideas is my business. I frequently engage in “idea infatuation” and have lengthy discussion about how these ideas can help people in agriculture.  And, I’m constantly humbled by how others build on the initial thought and proliferate an idea to be far-reaching and truly impactful.

Last night was one of those moments to learn from others; we had our first “agchat” on Twitter. It was energizing, thought-provoking, eye-opening and tough to keep up with speed of conversation. Check out AgWired’s report at http://agwired.com/2009/04/07/agchat-session-on-twitter/.  You may not be familiar with the power of Twitter, which is a social media tool that takes some time to really understand.  You have 140 characters for your message (AKA Tweets); think of a conversation that’s happening around the world – it’s just virtual. I didn’t really “get”  Twitter’s value until I started tweeting weekly food facts at the beginning of 2009, when suddenly nutrition professionals, major media and other influences began “following” my work – and I saw the opportunity for ag sound bytes to hit millions.

Agchat is similar to #journchat on Twitter, which brings together writers and public relations people.  Believe it or not, there’s even #GNO as a chat. As I participated in these chats and saw hundreds of people coming together to discuss a common topic, a chat session for agriculture seemed logical – so #agchat started on Tuesday nights, 8-10 p.m. EDT.  Those hashmarks (#) aren’t typos; it’s “Twitter-speak” to designate subjects.  You can learn more by following @agchat on Twitter, searching Facebook for the #agchat group or join the Linkedin group.

It fascinates me to watch ideas grow and excites me to share them with others, which is why there’s another blog posting related to social media.  Don’t worry, I’ll return to hardcore agricultural, farm and ranch messages next time; I just had to share an example of how the power of social media can be harnessed to benefit the agrifood business and thank those who have help get the word out about #agchat.

Now, I have to ask, what idea are you holding back on?  What’s it going to take for you to engage others in your idea to proliferate it to new levels?

