Online communities-whether you call them social or marketing or time wasters-are the hottest commodity of 2008.  Whether we like it or not, online networks are here to stay-watch a Gen X or Yer and you’ll quickly see why.  It’s all about electronic connections, probably somewhat similar to the way older generations enjoy going down to the coffee shop for breakfast or Sunday afternoon visits-online communities just happens without eye contact.

Over the last year, several of my clients asked if I could provide training on social networking.  I’ve refused-until now-because I’ve never wanted to be a speaker who will talk on any subject.  Besides, I didn’t really pay much attention to these “social” networks until I started seeing public opinion being changed-and that’s why Facebook, LinkedIn, YouTube and other tools have my attention.  Look no further than the Obama campaign if you want an example of the impact of online word of-mouth influence mass opinion.  There’s a huge opportunity for agriculture to get online and be involved building a connection between food production and consumption.

And since that fits with giving a voice to the people who feed the world, I started researcing, watching and participating.  I don’t have all the answeres and am certainly not an expert, but given the pace in which this is moving, I don’t know who could claim to know it all.  After beginning online communities for professional speakers, my own business and clients-I am convinced agriculture needs to jump on this now!  To help with that, the following training is available as either a workshop or webinar-call or text 765-427-4426 if you’re’ interested or e-mail me through my contact page.

Farming Your Online Community; Social Networking and Beyond

Does the buzz about Facebook, LindedIn, blogging, Ning, Twitter, YouTube and other online communities really matter to agriculture? Absolutely! Michele Payn-Knoper will explain 110 million reasons why you need to be engaged with social networking.  You’ll learn from her experiences with developing online communities and how social networks are impacting popular opinion about food production.  This webinar will give you a road map of how to get started with an online community, understand differences in the major sites and stake your claim in Web 2.0.  You’ll be surprised with your ability to farm the online community; Michele is an agricultural advocacy expert who is 100% self-taught in social media sites and believes agriculture needs to learn from others online.  Come ready to learn about online networks and see why they’re ripe with opportunity for agriculture!

